Meet the Board of Education

Board of EducationThe Cobleskill-Richmondville Central School District Board of Education is a seven-member board elected by the community that is the official policy-making body of the school district. Board members are elected on a rotating basis to three-year terms, and they serve without pay.

The board is responsible for establishing the quality of education in the district. As elected officials, they represent the public in:

  • defining the philosophy of the district;
  • setting goals and objectives to achieve educational progress;
  • establishing policies for the operation of the school district;
  • evaluating the effectiveness of district programs and services;
  • developing a budget consistent with educational needs and community resources.

Meeting schedule

C-RCS Board of Education meetings are normally held in the William H. Golding Middle School library at 7 p.m. Board of Education meetings are videotaped by Schopeg. Livestream information will be posted to the district website prior to each meeting.

Board of Education members 

Bruce Tryon, President,

Steven Philbrick, Vice President,
Mary Black,
Dominga Lent,
Joshua McCann
Susan Emerson Strasser,
Aimee Yorke,

Board of Education committees

Board of Education members serve on many district committees to help ensure representation and transparency across district operations. Below is a list of C-RCSD committees on which BOE members serve.

Audit: Bruce Tryon, Steven Philbrick
Board Policy:
Bruce Tryon, Mary Black, Susan Emerson Strasser 

Facilities: Steven Philbrick, Joshua McCann
Health and Safety: Dominga Lent
Professional Growth: Mary Black
Strategic Planning: Susan Strasser, Aimee Yorke
Technology: Joshua McCann, Mary Black
Wellness: Susan Emerson Strasser